Croft Parish Council

Serving the people of Croft

Clerk: Samantha Walsh
PO Box 10917, Leicester

Fosse Villages Neighbourhood Plan

Fosse Villages

Fosse Villages Neighbourhood Plan area comprises the following 10 Parishes which are situated in the south-west part of Blaby District, Leicestershire:
Parish Councils: Croft, Huncote, Sapcote, Sharnford, Stoney Stanton and Thurlaston
Parish Meetings: Aston Flamville, Leicester Forest West, Potters Marston and Wigston Parva.

Neighbourhood Plans

The 2011 Localism Act has given communities a new right to draw up a Neighbourhood Plan.

This new right is aimed at giving local communities genuine opportunities to influence the future of the places where they live.

Decisions on planning applications must take account of neighbourhood plans.

Details of all the Neighbourhood Plans across Leicestershire are available via the Leicestershire Communities website.

Fosse Villages Neighbourhood Plan (FVNP)

The Fosse Villages area amounts to 5,311 hectares, representing 41% of the District of Blaby. In administrative terms, the area shares a common boundary with parts of both Hinckley & Bosworth Borough Council and Harborough District Council in Leicestershire and with Rugby Borough Council in Warwickshire along a short length of its south-western boundary.

The Fosse Villages include lively, highly active communities which share common concerns which provide a cohesive basis for neighbourhood planning.

The 10 settlements within the area each have their own character, although they are generally small to medium scale communities, ranging from hamlets such as Potters Marston (population 30) to Stoney Stanton (population 3,460).

The total population of the area amounts to an estimated 11,930, giving an overall population density of 2.2 persons per hectare. It is, therefore, predominantly a rural area.

The Fosse Villages were designated as a Neighbourhood Area on 21 February 2013.

The Plan is being prepared by the parish councils and meetings through the Fosse Villages Neighbourhood Plan Joint Working Board.